The Winter Shade

As the weather is getting colder, my skin is surely getting lighter. That’s why I have a summer shade AND a winter shade. Since I was heading down to Milan this weekend to do some much needed shopping before I depart for Ireland, I figured I could go shopping for my winter shade in compact powder form. I ended up shopping at a place called UPIM, which is an Italian shop that offers a wide variety of fashion products, one of these sections containing cosmetics. A L’oreal consultant came my way to help me search for my perfect winter shade, which was not turning out so perfectly. We searched through Rimmel London, Pupa, L’oreal, Revlon, Deborah Milano and some other product lines to find there was a limited amount of shades in each product line and the darkest colors often being too light for my beige/light caramel colored skin… which I found surprising since my skin is pretty fair for a person of mixed heritage.

However, I finally did run into a shade in compact powder form, which was more or less a match for me. The lucky match was, Bourjois Paris compact powder in number 75 “Hale Natural”  which was one of three shades this particular product actually comes in (the lightest is 71 “Beige Clair”, and the second lightest 73 “Miel Dore”.) I was actually quite shocked in the limited variety of shades, but nevertheless happy that I found an almost perfect match. I say almost, because I tested this product only on my hand (not a good idea since my face tends to be lighter than the rest of my body.) However, I was quite pleased with the texture of the product, the light fragrance, and the compact itself.  This product was the best match as well since it matched my yellow undertones. The compact itself comes with a soft and thin powder puff, which I’m not a fan of (I prefer using a brush to apply powder), but the compact is cute, convenient and worth all the €10.80 (roughly $14.50), less than its suggested retail price at $20.00.

I give this product a 7/10.  It could have gotten a higher rating if their were more variety of shades and one that was a better match for my skin color. But in all, the compact is trendy, the fragrance refreshing, and the price is economical enough for me.

Ingredients:

Talc, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Dimethicone, Zinc Stearate, Pentaerythrityl Tetraisostearate, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zeolite, Sorbic Acid, Methylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance), Zea Mays (Corn) Oil, Propylparaben, Tetrasodium EDTA, Butylparaben, BHT, Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Coumarin. +/- (May Contain): CI 15850 (Red 7 Lake), CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Mica.

Leave a Reply

