Miss Jessie’s (3) samples review!

I was browsing the Miss Jessie’s website, contemplating whether or not I wanted to take the big dive and splurge on an overpriced 8oz product. Apologies for the bluntness, but I have a hard time seeing my money go into a product that may end up sitting eternally in my bathroom cupboard. I’ve also read numerous reviews of mixed opinions and claims that these products aren’t even all natural – yet they flaunt a premium price tag… my mind goes, “huh???”

Anyway, I was pleasantly surprised to see that Miss Jessie’s is now offering free samples of their products, in a small plastic pouch, similar to samples you’d find in lifestyle/women’s magazines. I immediately ordered three from Miss Jessie’s. I was ecstatic to have these products arrive to me in a very timely manner, just three days!

And now, I present to you a thorough review (from just one or two time use, mind you) of Miss Jessie’s (1) Curly Butter Creme, (2) Curly Meringue and (3) Pillow Soft Curls.

(1) Curly Butter Creme **I received the 1oz sample pack, so the price and size are based off the smallest tube available from Miss Jessie’s!

Product size: 8oz
Product price point: $32
Availability: CVS, Target, Missjessies.com
Product features:
This Curly Buttercreme hairdress from Miss Jessie is spiked with extra cooling peppermint essence, making it perfect for growing out natural hair and preventing peppercorn tangled knotted ends. Just apply a dollop to instantly hydrate and soften dry, crunchy curls. Curly Buttercreme is excellent for taming hairline edges, moisturizing pony puffs, two strand twists, coils, braids, cornrows and naturals.

Ingredients: Water, Petrolatum, Glycerin, Mineral Oil, Acetylated Lanolin, Glyceryl Stearate,PEG 100 Stearate, Crambe Abyssinica Seed Oil, Wheat Germ Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Panthenol, PEG-8 Dilaurate, Ceteareth-20, Stearyl Alcohol, Triethanolamine, Fragrance, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Disodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Orange 4 (C1 1550), Yellow 10 (C1 47005)

Application: I applied the Miss Jessie’s Buttercreme after cowashing in the shower with TRESemme Naturals. My hair was damp, but not drenched. I applied half of the sample pack from root-to-tip.

Scent: Peppermint, ‘nought said. I am not a fan of hair products that smell minty, or any body products for that matter. The only product I think is suitable being mint, is my dental care products. I think any skin care/hair care/body care product that goes on the minty side of things, is doing it wrong, but that is my own personal opinion. I left my house smelling like I smothered my hair in peppermint patty…. In other more simplistic terms, I didn’t like the scent.

Verdict: 2/5 ***** stars. When my hair dried, it was not moisturized enough. I should have used an oil or a butter so that it would sit better and I’m sure if I had, it would have worked to my liking. But the mere fact I found the scent annoying, put me off altogether and doesn’t even make it worth it.

(2) Miss Jessie’s Curly Meringue **I received the 1oz sample pack, so the price and size are based off the smallest tube available from Miss Jessie’s!

Product size: 8oz
Product price point: $22
Availability: CVS, Target, Missjessies.com
Product features:
Create natural, soft curls with Miss Jessie’s curl meringue. Smoothes frizzy, out-of-control hair for a more controlled look. Perfect for use on curly and frizzy hair types. Adds shine to the most popular styles. Comes in a cream form, which makes it easy to rub into the hair.

Ingredients: Purified Water, Carbomer, PVP, VP/VA Copolymer, Vegetable Glycerin, Triethanolamine, Wheat Germ Oil, Lemongrass Extract, Sodium Hydroxymethylglyclycinate, Tetrasodium, EDTA, FD&C Yellow 5, Fragrance.

Application: I applied this product on damp hair after applying TRESemme Naturals conditioner.

Scent: This had a strong tropical scent. I smelled pineapple and coconut the most. It was a little too strong for my taste, but it was not awful.

Verdict: 3/5 ***** stars. This product was so-so for my curls. I could have used a bit more moisture and added a natural ingredient like shea butter or coconut oil in the mix. But it was fine. The smell was ok. I may or may not repurchase this product again, but because of the price, I think I could find something better and more easy on my pocket.

(3) Miss Jessie’s Pillow Soft Curls **I received the 1oz sample pack, so the price and size are based off the smallest tube available from Miss Jessie’s!

Product size: 8.5 oz
Product price point: $22
Availability: CVS, Target, Missjessies.com
Product features:
The name says it all. Miss Jessie’s PILLOW SOFT CURLS™ is the new styling lotion that borrows fabric care technology and marries it to haircare. It is perfect for achieving static-free, big, soft, curly hair that we all dream about. If you don’t want ramen noodle definition and instead want a larger, expanded, fluffy curl then PILLOW SOFT CURLS™ is for you! It’s the first “fabric softener” type styling lotion that will leave your curls clothesline fresh and fluffy soft. You will see that PILLOW SOFT CURLS™ is so easy to apply. It spreads so smoothly and feels as light as a feather on your curls.

Ingredients:
Water (Aqua), Emulsifying Wax NF, Glycerin, Amodimethicone, Behentronium Chloride, Fragrance (Parfum), Methyl Gluceth-20 Hydroethylcellulose, Guar Hydroxypropyltrium Chloride, Phyenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Triticum vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Carthamus tintorius (Safflower) Oil, Persea gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Citric Acid, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Silk Amino Acids, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein/PVP Crosspolymer, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Urtica dioica (Nettle) Extract, Equisetum arvense Leaf Extract, Chamomilla recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Althaea officinalis Root Extract, Agave americana Leaf Extract, Blue 1 (CI42090)

Application: I applied this product on damp hair after cowashing with TRESemme Naturals conditioner.

Scent: Not going to lie, every time I whipped my hair side to side, I thought the strong, clothing detergent smell I kept whiffing was from my clothes – lol! It smelled like my hair came straight out of the dryer. I initially thought maybe they gave it this scent to correspond with the name of the product “pillow soft curls”? As if it’s supposed to make your hair FEEL and SMELL like you put hair softener in your hair, kind of like laundry. I like the literal aspect of it, but for my hair? Not sure if I like it all that much…

Verdict: 4/5 ***** Despite the fresh-out-of-the-wash kind of smell, I thought it worked well. It defined my curls in a way that gave it body. My hair dried a big poofy and curly, the way I like it and I didn’t even need any extra moisturizers. Out of all the products I’ve tried from Miss Jessie’s line, this one is by far my favorite and maybe even worth repurchasing. 🙂