What do I keep in MY spritz bottle? Rosewater – here’s why!

Image

Recently, I found myself roaming the aisles of my local Asian food market looking for new ingredients for my hair and skin when I spotted a bottle of rose water. Something in the back of my head told me to pick it up despite the label suggesting the best use for this particular rose water is for making sweets. I instantly knew I read somewhere, some time ago, the benefits of rose water for hair and skin. I’m a sucker for ‘natural’ remedies and this bottle of $1.99 rose water was no exception. 

I decided to do a little bit of research on the benefits of rose water when I got home to see how I could put this luscious-smelling bottle to use. I wanted to share with you what I found out about rose water and how you can implement it into your skincare and hair care regimen and perhaps even have it mosey its way over to being a staple product. 😉

  1. It is an anti-inflammatory that can aid in reducing the appearance of red or swollen skin.
  2. Roses are a great source of anti-oxidants which are typically known for strengthening our skin cells.
  3. Rose water can be used as a moisturizer and is a great one, too!
  4. And last but not least, rose water has an elegant aroma.

I also discovered how rose water has been a beloved concoction for centuries. Dating all the way back to ancient times, Greeks and Romans tended to their rose gardens critically because they recognized and valued roses for their nutritional and medicinal properties. 

How have I been using rose water these days? Good question! Like many natural/curly/kinky haired ladies out there, I moisturize my hair daily using a spritz bottle. I fill mine up with distilled water and rose water and spritz my hair and skin daily. Not only does my hair and skin feel smoother, but it leaves a pleasant and light fragrance that lingers throughout the day.

What kind of natural oils or waters do you keep in your spritz bottle?

 

Image

6 responses

  1. This sounds lovely! I love using a spritz as well. My favorite is a citrus spritz. I was first introduced to them when i travelled to Morocco a number of years ago. They are so refreshing that I was inspired to recreate my own here at home! http://wp.me/s1BAZi-38

  2. I am going to try rosewater, rosemary oil and castor oil for my next spritz! Thx for the reminder to try tidewater out! Lol

  3. Citrus is another amazing alternative. I’ve never tried it, but I love the smell of citrus. I’m going to attempt a spritz in the near future, for sure.Thanks for sharing! 🙂 And I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

