Back to school hair accessories – starring Quoise Inc!

September is slowly but surely approaching and for many of us that means ‘so long summer‘ or until next year, at least. During this transitional period of back to school or back to work, many of us update our wardrobes to help us shift more smoothly into the next season. For many of us, we update our clothing – that’s what I usually like to do.

Years prior, my hair and its style was put on the backburner despite the fact that hair accessories are a great way to change up ones’ style. I’m not one for intricate hairstyles because simply put, I don’t have the time (or patience!) What I like to do to change up the appearance of my hair is wear headbands. There are an array of styles to choose from and all hair textures, hair lengths and hair colors can play around with them. They can make any ol’ LBD or plain t-shirt look chic.

I recently stocked up on some hair accesories from Forever21 since they always have a wide range to choose from and they often sell styles that correspond with ongoing trends. They’re also an inexpensive way to update your fashion and (safely) experiment with trends without having to splurge. All of these were between $1.80 and $5.80 – all steals!

I also like to support smaller businesses and start-ups and purchase from individual sellers when possible. I am a HUGE etsy fan, btw!  My college friend Ashlie Butler (a truly inspiring lady!) held a trunk show for her new company, Quoise (http://www.quoiseinc.com) at Henri Bendel’s on 5th avenue – an amazing accomplishment! Here I am rocking a beautiful purple stone headband, handmade by her!  This is definitely my favorite hair accessory in my collection. Follow the company on twitter: @QuoiseInc

And last but not least, I love BIG ol’ scrunchies. This one was gifted to me for my birthday from my grandmother. Its got a beautiful Africanesque (for lack of a better word) design on it. My all-time favorite hairstyle is throwing my curly/kinky hair up in a bun and going. It’s quick, cute and chic! Scrunchies are also a great alternative to the hair band, which can also tug at the roots of my hair and pull my edges (eek!)

Are you changing up your hair wardrobe for the coming school/work year? If  so, what hair accessory in particular?

2 responses

Leave a Reply

